Shiv Sena, Congress rebels persuaded to withdraw from fray on very last day

Shiv Sena, Congress rebels persuaded to withdraw from fray on very last day

PUNE: On the last day of withdrawal of nomination forms of candidates, major political parties succeeded in persuading rebels to withdraw from the fray.
This includes the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-Shiv Sena alliance and the Congress-Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) coalition in Pune. 

Senior Congress leaders Kamal Vyavahare, Aba Bagul, senior Shiv Sena leader Ramesh Konde and corporator Sanjay Bhosale withdrew their nominations on Monday. 

Now, the picture has become clear in all eight constituencies. There will be a direct fight between the two prominent  parties in all segments. 

Konde had filed his nomination form from Khadakwasla constituency against sitting BJP MLA Bhimrao Tapkir. Senior corporator Sanjay Bhosale entered the fray against coalition partner sitting BJP MLA from Vadgaon Sheri Jagdish Mulik. Now, both leaders withdrew their forms. However, Shiv Sena corporator Vishal Dhanawade has not withdrawn against alliance partner BJP candidate city Mayor Mukta Tilak. 
Senior Congress leader Aba Bagul and Kamal Vyavahare relented. Bagul had filed his nomination from Parvati constituency, where coalition party NCP’s Ashwini Kadam is contesting. 
Along with Bagul, Congress leader Kamal Vyavahare who had filed the form against Congress candidate Arvind Shinde in Kasba Peth constituency withdrew her form.

Enjoyed reading The Bridge Chronicle?
Your support motivates us to do better. Follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter to stay updated with the latest stories.
You can also read on the go with our Android and iOS mobile app.

No stories found.
The Bridge Chronicle