Ashwin, Karthik light up Kari

Ashwin, Karthik light up Kari

Coimbatore: Chennai drivers Ashwin Datta and Kathik Tharani Singh came out unscathed to take up top podium finishes in the two races of Euro JK 2018 championship series on a day that saw several race incidents that brought in safety cars on to the track several times, in the Round 3 of the 21st JK Tyre FMSCI National Racing Championship at the Kari Motor Speedway here on Saturday.

Ashwin Datta took advantage of the situation after pole-sitter Nayan Chatterjee made a slow start allowing Karthik to move ahead, but later the two got caught in the tangle. Ashwin made his charge at the right time and streaked ahead on a perfect sunny day for racing though rain is predicted for Sunday--the second and final day of Round 3.

With the track playing true to its characteristics, the narrow lanes were a challenge that every driver attempting an overtake dished out incidents after another. Mumbai’s Nayan Chatterjee and Karthik tried to fight a battle of their own but got forced off the tarmac that allowed Datta to grab the lead.

Tharani managed to recover but Nayan failed to finish, losing valuable points. Ashwin, who began from P3 came into his own soon, clocking the fastest lap time of 1:01.422. In Race 2, with the reverse grid for the top six coming into play, young Yash Aradhya started on pole. 

Yash made the most of the opportunity to build a sizable lead; but he slipped out of contention due to another minor collision. Karthik Tharani jumped at the chance to win the race while Nayan Chatterjee, racing in a hit car, finished third to keep his Championship chances alive.

Joseph Mathew too continued his stunning run in the Suzuki Gixxer Cup, winning his fifth straight race to widen his Championship lead further. He was followed home by Malsawmdawngliana and Sachin Chaudhary.

The LGB Formula 4, however, saw a mini upset, with Delhi’s Rohit Khanna (Dark Don Racing) pulling off a stunning victory. It was a close race, with Sandeep Kumar finishing second just 0.285 seconds behind.
Raghul Rangasamy claimed the third place while championship leader Vishnu Prasad had to be content with the fourth place.

Euro JK 18:
Race 1: 1. Ashwin Datta 15 mins 38.306 secs; 2. Karthik Tharani 15:42.598; 3. Brayan Perera 15:42.829.
Race 2: 1. Karthik Tharani; 2. Nirmal Uma Shankar; 3. Nayan Chatterjee
LGB 4: 1. Rohit Khanna (Dark Don Racing) 23:28.307; 2. Sandeep Kumar (Dark Don) 23:28.592; Raghul Rangasamy (MSport) 23:29.337.
Gixxer Cup: 1. Joseph Mathew 12:36.577; 2. Malsawmdawngliana 12:41.202; 3. Sachin Chaudhary 12:44.210.
JK Tyre Novice Cup: 1. Hasim EKP 19:09.525; 2. Kunal Maini 19:14.166; 3. Tijil Rao 19:26.560.

No stories found.
The Bridge Chronicle