KKR vs SRH: Eoin Morgan aims for first win as captain
KKR will take on SRH in Abu Dhabi in Sunday double headerImage source: Twitter

KKR vs SRH: Eoin Morgan aims for first win as captain

Sunrisers Hyderabad and Kolkata Knight Riders will face off in the 35th match of IPL 2020 at Abu Dhabi

A change in Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) captaincy failed to bring any change as the two-time Indian Premier League (IPL) winners bore an eight-wicket beating against Mumbai Indians (MI) recently. They will hope for a changing result today when they take on Sunrisers Hyderabad, who too are looking for a win.

After some following below-par performances, KKR, placed fourth on the points table, had a change of leadership. Under fire skipper Dinesh Karthik handed over the wheels to Eoin Morgan but there was no change in the result in the game against MI.

The main problem for KKR is batting! KKR boasts of players like Rahul Tripathi, Eoin Morgan and Andre Russell but they all are inconsistent this year. The World Cup winning captain Eoin Morgan, too, was unable to create the kind of impact expected from him while Andre Russell's bat has also been mostly silent so far.

Coming to bowling, Pat Cummins, Parsidh Krishna, Kamlesh Nagarkoti and Shivam Mavi lacked the rhythm are lacking rhythm. It remains to be seen if Sunil Narine, makes a comeback against SRH. Post a suspect bowling action incident, he has missed the previous two games.

On the other hand, SRH led by David Warner stands at the fifth position. Hyderabad’s success or failure majorly depends upon their top order that features David Warner, Jonny Bairstow, Kane Williamson and Manish Pandey. SRH’s major problem is that they lack a quality power hitter in the middle order. Again, the responsibility the first four against KKR.

The bowling department is quite decent with the likes of T Natarajan, Khaleel Ahmed and Sandeep Sharma, who all have filled the void of Bhuvneshwar Kumar. With the tracks in the UAE getting on the slower side in this half of the league, spinner Rashid Khan needs to lead the responsibility of the bowling.


SRH: David Warner (C), Jonny Bairstow (wk), Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson, Vijay Shankar, Abhishek Sharma/Virat Singh, Rashid Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Khaleel Ahmed, Sandeep Sharma, T Natarajan

KKR: Shubman Gill, Rahul Tripathi, Nitish Rana, Eoin Morgan (C), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Andre Russell, Pat Cummins, Lockie Ferguson/Chris Green, Shivam Mavi, Varun Chakravarthy, Prasidh Krishna

Related Stories

The Bridge Chronicle - Breaking News | Politics, Sports, Business, Lifestyle News from India & World