Farm bill: Eight MPs suspended over Rajya Sabha chaos

Farm bill: Eight MPs suspended over Rajya Sabha chaos

Eight Opposition members were suspended from the Rajya Sabha for one week for forming a ruckus on Sunday during the discussion over agriculture bills. The eight suspended members are, KK Ragesh, Derek O'Brien, Dola Sen, Syed Nazir Hussain, Sanjay Singh, Rajiv Sattav, Ripun Bora and Elamaram Karim.

A motion for their suspension was stirred by Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs V Muraleedharan. House Chairman Venkaiah Naidu said on Monday said, “It was a very bad day for Rajya Sabha,” adding that the members had entered the Well of the House, got onto the table and tore papers and Rule Books. He also rejected the no-confidence motion against Deputy Chairman on the grounds that it was not in the correct format.

Rajya Sabha witnessed some chatoic scenes on Sunday as Opposition members entered the well and reached the deputy chairman's seat to complaint against the farm Bills debated and passed by the Upper House through voice vote.

The Trinamool leader was also heard saying: "You cannot do this" to the Chair. At one point in time, the aides of the Deputy Chair, who was conducting the House proceedings, had to come forward to shield him.

Despite repeated requests, many opposition members reached the Well of the House to register their protests against the Farm Bills.

(With inputs from IANS)

Related Stories

The Bridge Chronicle - Breaking News | Politics, Sports, Business, Lifestyle News from India & World