No flights to Kolkata from six cities including Pune, Mumbai

No flights to Kolkata from six cities including Pune, Mumbai

Following the COVID-19 pandemic, Kolkata Airport said on Saturday that there will be no flights between 6 and 19 July from six cities to the capital of West Bengal.

Delhi, Mumbai, Pune, Nagpur, Chennai and Ahmedabad are the cities.

A tweet from the Kolkata airport said, "It is informed that no flights shall operate to Kolkata from Delhi, Mumbai, Pune, Nagpur, Chennai & Ahmedabad from 6th to 19th July 2020 or till further order whichever is earlier. Inconvenience caused is regretted."

In the light of COVID-19 outbreak, the Airport Director Kolkata said, a decision was taken on a request from the Government of Western Bengal.

Following a request of the Government of West Bengal, the Civil Aviation Ministry decided to suspend flights. The West Bengal government also wrote to the Centre to prohibit Indore and Surat flights. He decided to avoid flights from Andal and Bagdogra state to two other airports.

"West Bengal is also witnessing a steep rise in cases. A large number of cases has been reported from people coming in the State from outside with infection. Government of West Bengal has decided to stop or curtail the movement of incoming flights and trains into the State," the letter read.

Enjoyed reading The Bridge Chronicle?
Your support motivates us to do better. Follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter to stay updated with the latest stories.
You can also read on the go with our Android and iOS mobile app.

No stories found.
The Bridge Chronicle