Pandharpur Wari: PMPML increases bus services for devotees attending Palkhi procession

Palkhi departs from Pune on July 2, with bus services organized from Mahatma Gandhi Bus Station to Pune Station, Warje Malwadi, Kothrud Depot.
File Photo
File Photo

Pune: To accommodate the influx of devotees attending the Palkhi processions of Sant Dnyaneshwar Maharaj in Alandi and Sant Tukaram Maharaj in Dehu, the Pune Mahanagar Parivahan Mahamandal Limited (PMPML) has increased bus services from various parts of the city.

PMPML will operate 106 daily bus trips to Alandi from Swargate, Pune Municipal Corporation (PMC), Hadapsar, Pune Station, Nigdi, Bhosari, Hinjewadi, and Chinchwad. Additionally, 30 buses will run daily to Dehu from Pune Station, PMC, and Nigdi.

On June 30, as the Palkhi departs from Alandi, 27 buses will be available from 2:30 AM onwards, departing from Swargate, Pune Station, Hadapsar, and PMC to Alandi.

The Palkhi will depart from Pune on July 2, with bus services organized from Mahatma Gandhi Bus Station to Pune Station, Warje Malwadi, Kothrud Depot, Nigdi, Chinchwad, and Alandi. Additional bus services will be available from Shivrkar Garden to Katraj and Kondhwa, and from Magarpatta to Mundhwa, Chandan Nagar, and Wagholi.

Due to the Palkhi procession, the Dive Ghat road from Hadapsar to Saswad will be completely closed. Bus services will be rerouted via Bopdev Ghat. On this route, 60 additional buses will be arranged from Swargate, Pune Station, and Hadapsar.

PMPML has also decided to increase the frequency of buses on routes 37 and 97 due to high passenger demand, while route 20 will be discontinued due to low ridership. This will take effect from July 1. Route 37, from N.T. Wadi to Sahakar Nagar, will see 18 additional trips, and route 97, from Warje Malwadi to Sahakar Nagar, will see 4 additional trips. Route 20, from Sahakar Nagar to Vishrantwadi, will be discontinued.

Bus Route Details:

Route 37 – N.T. Wadi to Sahakar Nagar

  • Route: Shivajinagar, PMC, Mandai, Swargate, Laxminagar

  • Number of Buses: 2

  • Frequency: Every 40 minutes

  • Single Trips: 36

Route 97 – Warje Malwadi to Sahakar Nagar

  • Route: Galinde Path, Karvenagar, Kothrud, Deccan Corner, Tilak Road, Swargate, Laxminagar

  • Number of Buses: 1

  • Frequency: Every 2 hours and 30 minutes

  • Single Trips: 12

Enjoyed reading The Bridge Chronicle?
Your support motivates us to do better. Follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter to stay updated with the latest stories.
You can also read on the go with our Android and iOS mobile app.

Related Stories

No stories found.
The Bridge Chronicle