COVID-19 strain: Here are the countries that have banned flights to UK
UK isolated as nations ban travel and limit freight over COVID-19 variant Image source: Unsplash

COVID-19 strain: Here are the countries that have banned flights to UK

Here are the countries that have banned flights to Britain in the wake of new coronavirus strain

The new strain of the COVID-19 that was discovered in the UK has forced Prime Minister Boris Johnson to declare another lockdown despite plans to ease restrictions during the Christmas festive period. The new strain can reportedly be transferred from one person to another much faster than the previous one and it might even compromise vaccines if they are not effective against it.

Here are the countries that have banned flights to and fro Britain:

India: India on Monday decided to suspend all flights to the UK. The air travel ban will stay till December 31. The suspension of all UK flights will start from 23:59 pm on Tuesday. Ministry of Civil Aviation said, “Considering the prevailing situation in UK. The Government of India has decided that all flights originating from the UK to India to be suspended till 31st December 2020 (23.59 hours)."

Argentina: Argentina suspended all flights from the UK, the government said in a statement on Sunday.

France: France which was once called as an epicentre of COVID-19 in Europe also declared that it will suspend all travel from Britain for 48 hours. France stated that only unaccompanied freight would be permitted inside French borders.

Germany: German Health Minister Jens Spahn made clear that the country was suspending all flights from the UK for 48 hours from midnight on Sunday. Germany which is under strict lockdown has allowed cargo flights to fly.

Italy: Italian Health Minister Roberto Speranza stated that he had signed a decree that will halt flights from England and will prohibit indvidiual who has stayed there during the last 14 days from entering Italy. One person has already been infected with the new strain.

The Netherlands: The Dutch government has cleared that that all passenger flights from Britain to the Netherlands would be banned until January 1. The nation has reported one person with the new strain.

Canada: Justin Trudeau, Canadian Prime Minister said that all flights from the UK would be suspended for 72 hours. He also ordered those recently returned from the nation to take advanced safety measures.

Saudi Arabia: Saudi Arabia declared on Sunday that it was halting all flights and suspending entry through its land and seaports for at least seven days, with the option to extend for a next week. The ones who have arrived from Europe or anywhere where the strain was detected have been instructed to self-isolate for two weeks.

Other countries: Bulgaria, Chile, Ireland, El Salvador, Belgium, Romania, Poland, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania have also suspended flights from the UK.

No stories found.
The Bridge Chronicle