Assembly Polls 2021: Meet the biggest losers this election season

Several prominent candidates lost the seats they contested in the 2021 assembly polls in West Bengal, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Assam.
Kamal Haasan, Mamata Banerjee and E Sreedharan all lost their seats in the assembly election (Left to Right)
Kamal Haasan, Mamata Banerjee and E Sreedharan all lost their seats in the assembly election (Left to Right)The Bridge Chronicle

Votes for the Assembly polls in Assam, Kerala, Puducherry, Tamil Nadu and West Bengal were counted on May 2 and as per the latest trends, it is clear is who is making government in which state.

While Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) is set to retain power in Assam and will be forming a government in Puducherry in an alliance, Trinamool Congress has registered an emphatic win in West Bengal. In South. MK Stalin-led Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) will be coming to power after a decade and the ruling Left Democratic Front has created history by winning a consecutive term in Kerala.

Here are some of the key losers in these assembly elections.


Mamata Banerjee

Mamata Banerjee may have won the West Bengal election but she couldn’t win from Nandigram Nandigram constituency where she was was locked in a fierce electoral battle in the with her former aide Suvendu Adhikari. Adhikari proved himself to be a giant killer and defeated the West Bengal Chief Minister by a margin of 1,956 votes.

Babul Supriyo

Union Minister and BJP leader Babul Supriyo, who is also is a two-time MP from Asansol, lost at the hands of TMC heavyweight and state’s PWD Minister Aroop Biswas by over 50,000 votes from West Bengal’s Tollygunge seat.

Locket Chatterjee

BJP MP from Hooghly Locket Chatterjee lost to TMC’s Asit Mazumder with a margin of 18,417 from Churchura.

Swapan Dasgupta

BJP leader Swapan Dasgupta, who resigned from Rajya Sabha to contest in the West Assembly election, lost to TMC’s Ramendu Sinharay by a margin of over 7,484 votes in the Tarakeswar constituency.

Aishe Ghosh

Former JNU student leader and CPI(M)’s candidate Aishe Ghost has been defeated by Trinamool Congress (TMC) leader Hareram Singh in Jamuaria assembly seat.


Kamal Haasan

In one of the most awaited results, actor and Makkal Needhi Maiam (MNM) founder Kamal Haasan lost Tamil Nadu's Coimbatore (South) constituency to BJP's Vanathi Srinivasan by a thin margin of 1,540 votes.

The actor, who made his electoral debut with the TN assembly elections, made a surprise move by selecting Coimbatore (south) as his constituency while he was expected to contest from Chennai. Vanathi Srinivasan clinched victory with 53,209 votes while the veteran actor received 51,481 votes.

Khushbu Sundar

Veteran actor Khushbu made her debut with the BJP following her exit from the Congress in 2014. Likewise, the DMK's Ezhilan was also drifted by the party this year, since being represented by MK Stalin four times. Ezhilan of DMK has won the Thousand Lights constituency in Tamil Nadu by 17,522 votes by defeating Khushbu Sundar.

This was Sundar's third political stop in a political career that had begun with the DMK.

TTV Dhinakaran

In what could be a big blow to his political career, AMMK (Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam) Chief TTV Dhinakaran lost the polls from Kovilpatti constituency in Thoothukudi district of the state on Sunday by a margin of 12,241 votes. He was defeated by AIADMK's Minister for Information and Publicity Kadambur C Raju who was the sitting MLA, winning from Kovilpatti for the third straight time.

Dhinakaran's choice of altering his constituency from RK Nagar from where he won and entered the Tamil Nadu assembly for the first time in 2017 was a surprise for all. Dhinakaran was a member of the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha from AIADMK before coming to Kovilpatti.

Pon Radhakrishnan

Kanniyakumari LS by-election was conducted due to the death of Congress late MP Vasanthakumar. But Congress continued to rule the bastion as their candidate Vijayakumar alias Vijay Vasanth defeated BJP candidate Pon Radhakrishnan with a margin of more than 1,34,000 votes.


E Sreedharan

‘Metro Man’ E. Sreedharan, who was also star campaigner and BJP’s chief minister candidate in the state, lost the Palakkad constituency by 3,859 votes. As counting began on Sunday, Sreedharan took an early lead in the initial rounds only to lose his lead later on. He lost to UDF incumbent MLA from Palakkad Shafi Parambil.

Jose K Mani

LDF ally Kerala Congress (M) chairman Jose K Mani lost from his party’s home land Pala. Jose lost Pala, which his father late K M Mani represented for more than five decades, to NCP-Kerala leader and sitting legislator Mani C Kappan. Jose K Mani had quit as a member of the Rajya Sabha early this year to contest the election from Pala, in a bid to claim the legacy of his father.

K Surendran

In a major setback to Saffron Party in Kerala, BJP’s state president K. Surendran, who had contested from both Manjeshwaram and Konni, lost in both seats.

Kummanam Rajasekharan

BJP’s only sitting MLA in Kerala Assembly, Kummanam Rajasekharan too suffered a defeat at the hands of CPI(M)’s V Sivankutty in Nemom Constituency.


Romen Chandra Borthakur

Considered to be one of the prime battles in Assam Assembly Elections 2021, Assam Minister and senior BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma won from Jalukbari constituency defeating Congress’s Romen Chandra Borthakur by a margin of over one lakh votes.

Rajib Lochan Pegu

Congress candidate Rajib Lochan Pegu lost to Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal from Majuli assembly seat by a margin of 43,192votes.

Kamal Haasan, Mamata Banerjee and E Sreedharan all lost their seats in the assembly election (Left to Right)
West Bengal chose its ‘daughter’: How Mamata-led TMC secured a historic third term

Enjoyed reading The Bridge Chronicle?
Your support motivates us to do better. Follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter to stay updated with the latest stories.
You can also read on the go with our Android and iOS mobile app.

Related Stories

No stories found.
The Bridge Chronicle