Kerala Elections 2021: BJP fields 'Metroman' among 112 candidates
Representational Image The Bridge Chronicle

Kerala Elections 2021: BJP fields 'Metroman' among 112 candidates

BJP announced their list of candidates for the Kerala Assembly Elections 2021 on Sunday

The BJP on Sunday announced names of 112 candidates for the April 6 Kerala Assembly polls, including 'Metroman' E. Sreedharan, from Palakkad while Kerala BJP chief K. Surendran will contest from two seats - Manjeshwar and Konni.

E. Sreedharan was given the title of 'Metroman' by the media for his exceptional success in executing the completion of Delhi Metro. He is an engineer by profession and has worked on various projects including the restoration of India's first sea bridge — Pamban Bridge, which connects Rameshwaram to mainland Tamil Nadu. He was also awarded the Padma Shri in 2001 and Padma Vibhushan in 2008.

Former Kerala BJP chief Kummanam Rajasekhran will contest from Nemom constituency, former Union Minister and Rajya Sabha member K.J. Alphons from Kanjirappally, another Rajya Sabha member Suresh Gopi from Thrissur, and former DGP Jacob Thomas from Irinjalakuda.

Manikuttan, the first tribal engineer in the state, will contest from Mananthavady (ST) assembly seat, academician Dr. Abdul Salaam will contest from Tirur, and party spokesperson R. Sandeep Vachaspathi from Alappuzha.

Ashanath (Chirayinkeezhu), Raji Prasad (Kunnathu), Minerva Mohan (Kottayam), Dr. J. Pramila Devi (Pala), Remya Raveendran (Udumbanchola), Renu Suresh (Kunnathunad), Padmaja S. Menon (Ernakulam), Niveditha (Guruvayoor), Sheebha Unnikrishnan (Kondotty), Navya Haridas (Kozhikode South), Smitha Jayamohan (Peravoor) and Aniyamma Rajendran (Irikkur) are BJP women leaders who will contest the polls.

BJP National General Secretary, Arun Singh said that the BJP is contesting 115 seats and the rest of the 25 seats will be left for four alliance partners.

"Joining of Metroman Sreedharan has given a big boost to the BJP's campaign. Celebrities, academicians, IPS officers are joining BJP and contesting Assembly polls under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi," he said.

(Inputs from IANS)

No stories found.
The Bridge Chronicle