Puducherry Assembly Elections 2021 Results: Will BJP be part of the next government
Puducherry's Former Chief Minister V NarayansamyThe Bridge Chronicle

Puducherry Assembly Elections 2021 Results: Will BJP be part of the next government

Will the BJP be part of the next government in Puducherry, a land of Tamil speakers will be declared soon

Chennai: With survey and exit polls predicting a win for the BJP led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in Puducherry, will the BJP be part of the next government in the Union Territory, a land of Tamil speakers will be declared soon.

It’s been a tough task for the saffron party to mark its presence Tamil Nadu and Puducherry all these years. The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in Puducherry consists of All India NR Congress (contesting in 16 seats), BJP (9) and AIADMK (5). The NDA's rival for the 30-member Assembly is the Congress led United Progressive Alliance (UPA) which comprises of Congress (14 seats), DMK (13), CPI (1), VCK (1) and an Independent (1). The polls were held on April 6 and the voter turnout was 81.69 per cent.

The counting commenced on Sunday at 8 am and will be conducted in three phases. In the first phase, 12 constituencies will be taken up, followed by 10 in the second phase while the remaining eight are in the third phase. The ECI (Election Commission of India) will update the round-wise trends for each of the 30 constituencies in the Union Territory every few minutes and the results will be announced on its website -- http://results.eci.gov.in.

The results can also be retrieved through the mobile app - 'Voter Helpline'. The postal votes will be counted first, trailed by Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs).

The Chief Electoral Officer for the UT, Shurbir Singh, stated that the process is expected to be completed by 11 pm. There are three counting centres in Puducherry province - Motilal Nehru Government Polytechnic college, the Women`s polytechnic college and the Government Tagore Arts and Science college-relating to the 23 segments in the UT. Counting of votes would take place simultaneously in Karaikal (having five constituencies) and Mahe and Yanam regions having one segment each.


In Puducherry, the main tussle is between the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) led by the All India NR Congress (AIMRC) and the Secular Progressive Alliance controlled by the Congress.

The Congress-led government in the Union Territory floor before completing its five-year tenure under the Chief Minister V Narayansamy who resigned in February this year ahead of a floor test in the 33-member House (including three nominated members) following the resignations of five Congress MLAs and one Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) legislator. The resignation of V Narayansamy and his council of ministers was accepted by President Ram Nath Kovind in the same month. Lieutenant Governor Kiran Bedi was replaced and Telangana's Governor Tamilisai Soundararajan took the additional charge of the Union Territory.

In 2016, Congress had managed victory in 15 seats, All India NR Congress eight seats, All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) won on four seats, DMK walked away with two MLAs. BJP could not win any seats. In the 2019 general elections, Dr Narayanasamy Kesavan of Congress won the single-seat from the Union Territory.


According to India Today-Axis My India exit poll for Puducherry Assembly Election, the AINRC-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) is expected to win 20-24 seats. On the other hand, the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance (UPA) is projected to bag victories on 6-10 seats.

ABP News-C Voter predicts 19-23 seats for NDA while SDA will win on 6-10 seats. Republic-CNX also expected NDA to win on 16-20 seats while SDA will emerge victorious on 11-13 seats.

Exit Polls ahead of Puducherry Assembly Elections 2021
Exit Polls ahead of Puducherry Assembly Elections 2021Datawrapper


Congress state chief AV Subramanian is seeking election from his hometown of Karaikal (North) It also include AINRC leader N Rangasamy, who is contesting from Yanam and Thattanchavady in the Union Terrirotory. The AIADMK leaders A Anbalagan and Om Sakthi Segar are also contesting from Uppalam and Orleanpet segments respectively.

Enjoyed reading The Bridge Chronicle?
Your support motivates us to do better. Follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter to stay updated with the latest stories.
You can also read on the go with our Android and iOS mobile app.

No stories found.
The Bridge Chronicle