Gaware goes down to Nirundorn

Gaware goes down to Nirundorn

Pune: Eighth seeded Mai Napatt Nirundorn of Thailand ended the aspirations of National Champion and wildcard entrant from Pune Sharannya Gaware 6-1, 6-0 at the second edition of the HCL Asian B1 Junior Tennis Championship in progress at the Deccan Gymkhana tennis courts on Tuesday.
The left handed Gaware who just returned from the WTA Future stars looked out of sorts after her long journey from Singapore and went down without a fight.

Meanwhile Japanese Saki Imamura played brilliant tennis using the court to the maximum to oust local girls and India No 3 Salsa Aher 6-4, 6-3 while third seeded Mananchaya Sawangkaew of Thailand served out national runner-up Vipasha Mehra 6-2, 6-4 to end her challenge.

Fifth seeded Mana Kawamura of Japan  played perfect tennis to put out former national champion Shivani Amineni  6-3, 6-3.

Fourth seeded Indonesian Priska Madelyn Nugroho saw off a first set challenge from Archita Mahalwal and pulled off a  7-6 (7-2), 6-0 win while second seeded Himari Sato Japan ended qualifier Prerna Vichare’s run winning 6-2, 6-4.

Round 1:  Boys: 8-Thantub Suksumrarn (Tha) bt Kevin Patel (Ind) 6-4, 7-6 (7-3).
Girls: Round 1: 5-Mana Kawamura (Jpn) bt Shivani Amineni (Ind) 6-3, 6-3; 3-Mananchaya Sawangkaew (Tha) bt Vipasha Mehra (Ind) 6-2, 6-4; 6-Funa Kozaki (Jpn) bt Muskan Gupta (Ind) 6-2, 6-2; 7-Jiaqi Wang (Chn) bt Smriti Bhasin (Ind) 6-1, 6-1; 
Saki Imamura (Jpn) bt Salsa Aher (Ind) 6-4, 6-3; 8-Mai Napatt Nirundorn (Tha) bt Sharannya Gaware (Ind) 6-1, 6-0; 4-Priska Madelyn Nugroho (Ina) bt (Q)Archita Mahalwal (Ind) 7-6 (7-2), 6-0; 2-Himari Sato (Jpn) bt (Q) Prerna Vichare (Ind) 6-2, 6-4.

Doubles : Boys: Kevin Patel (Ind) andAaryan Zaveri (Ind) bt Sina Moghimi (Iri) and Aman Patel (Ind) 6-2, 7-6 (8-6); 1-Siddhant Banthia (Ind) and Megh Bhargav Patel (Ind) bt Nishant Dabas (Ind) and  Sushant Dabas (Ind) 6-3, 6-2; Sai Karteek Reddy Ganta (Ind) and Madhwin Kamath (Ind) bt Taiyo Hirano (Jpn) and Ki Lung Ng (Hkg) 7-6 (7-1) 2-6 (10-6); Natthayut Nithithananont (Tha) and Sebastian Nothhaft (Hkg) bt  Krish Patel (Ind) and Kushan Shah (Ind) 6-2, 6-3; 2-Seon Yong Han (Kor) and Thantub Suksumrarn (Tha) bt Prasanna Bagade (Ind) and Subash Paramasivam (Ind) 6-2, 6-2;
3-Christian Didier Chin (Mas) and Sergey Fomin (Uzb) bt Aryaan Bhatia (Ind) and Tejasvi Mehra (Ind) 6-2, 6-1; Odeda Muhammad Arazza (Ina) and Kabir Hans (Ind) bt Sacchitt Sharrma (Ind) and Digvijay Pratap Singh (Ind) 6-3, 7-5.

Doubles: Girls: Round 1: 1-Himari Sato (Jpn) and Mananchaya Sawangkaew (Tha) bt Sudipta Kumar (Ind) and Vipasha Mehra (Ind) 6-2, 6-1; Kaavya Sawhney (Ind) and Sevil Yuldasheva (Uzb) bt Salsa Aher (Ind) and Shrivalli Rashmikaa Bhamidipaty (Ind) 6-2, 5-7(10-7); 3-Mana Kawamura (Jpn) and Funa Kozaki (Jpn) bt Malikaa Marathe (Ind) and Bhakti Parwani (Ind) 6-3, 6-0; Saki Imamura (Jpn) and Punnin Kovapitukted (Tha) bt Ila Dadhe (Ind) and Sneha Ranade (Ind) 6-0, 6-0; Yekaterina Dmitrichenko (Kaz) and Yasmina Karimjanova (Uzb) bt Pooja Ingale (Ind) and Bhakti Shah (Ind) 5-7 6-4 (10-4); 2-Mai Napatt Nirundorn (Tha) and Hong Yi Cody Wong (Hkg) bt Archita Mahalwal (Ind) and Vanshita Pathania (Ind) 6-3, 6-2; Jiaqi Huang(Chn) and Hoi Ki Jenny Wong (Hkg) bt Priyanshi Bhandari (Ind) and Gargi Pawar (Ind) 6-4, 6-0; 4-Priska Madelyn Nugroho (Ina) and Jiaqi Wang (Chn) bt Smriti Bhasin (Ind) and Muskan Gupta (Ind) 6-1, 6-2.

Enjoyed reading The Bridge Chronicle?
Your support motivates us to do better. Follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter to stay updated with the latest stories.
You can also read on the go with our Android and iOS mobile app.

Related Stories

No stories found.
The Bridge Chronicle