KL Rahul and Kagiso Rabada
KL Rahul and Kagiso Rabada|Image source: Twitter

IPL 2020: KL Rahul continues to wear Orange Cap, Purple stays with Kagiso Rabada

KL Rahul continues to wear Orange Cap while Kagiso Rabada holds Purple

Akshay Badwe

There is no change in the most runs scorers and most wicket-takers lists after Saturday in the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL). Kings XI Punjab’s leader KL Rahul continues to hold the Orange Cap with 387 runs while Delhi Capitals pacer Kagiso Rabada wears Purple Cap for having taken the most wickets (15) so far.

An opening batsman from Kings XI Punab, Rahul, whose team has lost six of the seven matches and is placed at the bottom of the table with just two points, is having a remarkable season. While leading the Punjab side for the first time this season, he has so far bagged 387 runs from seven matches at an average of 64.50. The right-handed batsman has scored one century and three half-centuries so far. He has also thrashed 37 boundaries and 10 sixes.

Interestingly, Rahul's Punjab, Karnataka, and India teammate Mayank Agarwal is second with 337 runs at 48.14 from seven matches. He, too, has scored one ton, besides two half-centuries. If Delhi Capitals are sitting pretty at the top of the points table, they should thank to the efforts of Kagiso Rabada. He has so far has 15 wickets at a strike rate of 9.46 in six matches and has the best bowling effort of 4/24.

In last season, the right-arm pacer had bagged 25 wickets in 12 matches at a strike rate of 11.28 for Delhi Capitals as the team reached the playoffs. Mumbai Indians speedster Jasprit Bumrah is second with 11 wickets in six matches.

Courtesy to South African pacer, Delhi Capitals led by Shreyas Iyer has bagged 10 points from six matches, having won five of those matches. Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders and Royal Challengers Bangalore are jointly placed second, though the net run rate differs.

The Bridge Chronicle - Breaking News | Politics, Sports, Business, Lifestyle News from India & World