Pune karters dominate IndiKarting

Pune karters dominate IndiKarting



Pune: Pune racers emerged winners in the Pro Categories, narrowly beating the racers from Mumbai and other cities at the IndiKarting Pune Kart Race at the IndiKarting Circuit in Kharadi on Sunday.

Akshay Patil from Pune emerged on top in the Pro Senior Category with 23 points in the event that saw 126 entries across all categories. 

The IndiKarting series aims to attract newcomers to the sport and give them opportunity to race without the complications of organising their own equipment.  

Akshay won the crucial reverse grid race and also finish Race 3 in second, after the top 2 racers elected to start from backto improve their overtaking skills.

Mumbai’s Aaroh Ravindra was second overall with 21 points ahead of reigning IndiKarting National Series Champion, Aanjan Patodia.

The Pro Cadet for ages 7 to 12 saw Mumbai’s Hoshmand Elavia grabbing pole position. It was Ranvir Singh from Pune who made a good overtaking manoeuvre to get past Hoshmand and claim victory in Race 1. 

The reverse grid race, however, saw Hoshmand storm up the field and win ahead of Ranvir. Race 3 saw Ranvir grab the lead at the start and manage to keep Hoshmand behind him throughout the race.

Ranvir’s 28-point haul allowed him to take the overall win ahead of Mumbai’s Hoshmand. Nigel Shaju from Pune was third.

The Pro Junior saw reigning IndiKarting Champion Jonathan Kuriakose dominate and win ahead of Mumbai-based Neil Gandhi while Delhi’s Siddharth Dabas was third. 

In the Senior Amateur category, most raced for the first time. Here it was Karthik Muthuswamy from Ramnagar who won ahead of Mumbai’s Chintan Shah and Delhi’s Siddharth Dabas.

The Senior Open proved to be the next most popular category which was once again won by Muthuswamy followed by Thane’s Akshay More and Chintan Shah.

DY Patil’s Veer wins 
Veer Sheth of DY Patil International School Worli won the Interschool ahead of Siddharth Dabas from GD Goenka School Delhi and Arav Wadhwa of Jamnabai Narsee School Mumbai. Aman Singh Bhui of Chandraban Sharma College dominated the Inter College Category ahead of Ajinkya Bhokre of Bharati Vidyapeeth Medical College and Aniket Jagtap of Trinity College of Engineering. 

Alan D’Cruz did a fine job by finishing third in both the Master’s category as well as the Senior Plus. Zubin Chinoy was well ahead and won the Senior Plus Category ahead of Vamsi Krishna while Clibe Joshua won the Master Category ahead of Arish Daver.

The bridge chronicle