Siddhant secures easy Rd 1 victory

Siddhant secures easy Rd 1 victory

PUNE: Local lad Siddhant Banthia continued his red hot form to outclass Christian Didier Chin of Malyasia 6-4, 6-2 in the the first round of the HCL Asian B1 Junior Tennis Championship at the Deccan Gymkhana tennis here on Monday.

Siddhant, who was coming into the tournament after winning the Fenesta National Tennis Championship title earlier this month, dominated the match completely right from the first game.

Priyanshi Bhandari and Sai Karteek Reddy Ganta also scored credible wins to enter the second round. 

In the girls first round, Priyanshi Bhandari thrashed Hoi Ki Jenny Wong of Hong Kong 6-0, 6-1 while Sai Karteek Reddy Ganta fought a close match winning against Sebastian Nothhaft also of Hong Kong 6-4, 1-6, 6-4 .

It was an easy day for top seed Dostanbek Tashbulatov of Kazakhstan, as he easily got past wild card Aryaan Bhatia 6-3, 6-2, while sixth seed Sacchitt Sharma rallied past wildcard Tejasvi Mehra 6-1, 6-3. Seventh seed Mann Shah played out a tough second set to get past Aaryan Zaveri 6-2, 7-6 (7-4). 

In the toughest match of the day, Taiyo Hirano of Japan rallied back to edge out Madhwin Kamath 4-6, 7-6 (8-6), 6-3 to move into the second round in style.

In the girls section, top seed Hong Yi Cody Wong of Hong Kong  rallied past wild card entrtant Gargi Pawar 6-4, 6-1 while qualifier Sevil Yuldasheva  proved too strong for  Sudipta Kumar winning 6-2, 6-4.

Another Indian girl, Kaavya Sawhney went down  6-2, 6-4  against Punnin Kovapitukted of Thailand.

First Round: 
Boys: 1-Dostanbek Tashbulatov (Kaz) bt wc- Aryaan Bhatia (Ind) 6-3, 6-2; Sai Karteek Reddy Ganta (Ind) bt Sebastian Nothhaft (Hkg) 6-4, 1-6, 6-4; 6-Sacchitt Sharma (Ind) bt Tejasvi Mehra (Ind) 6-1, 6-3; Taiyo Hirano (Jpn) bt Madhwin Kamath (Ind) 4-6, 7-6 (8-6), 6-3; Dev Javia (Ind) bt Aman Patel (Ind) 6-3, 3-6, 6-3; 7-Mann Shah (Ind) bt Aaryan Zaveri (Ind) 6-2, 7-6 (7-4); 4-Siddhant Banthia (Ind) bt Christian Didier Chin (Mas) 6-4, 6-2; Ki Lung NG (Hkg) bt Kabir Hans (Ind) 6-3, 6-2; Digvijay Singh (Ind) bt Sina Moghimi (Iri) 6-1, 6-1; 3-Seon Yong Han (Kor) bt Prasanna Bagade (Ind) 6-1, 6-2;  5-Megh Bhargav Patel (Ind) bt Sushant Dabas (Ind) 6-2, 6-3; Natthayut Nithithananont (Tha) bt Nishant Dabas (Ind) 6-2, 6-3; wc- Arthav Neema (Ind)  bt q-Subash Paramasivam (Ind) 6-1, 4-6, 6-0; q-Krish Patel (Ind) bt O Deda Muhammad A Razza (Ina) 6-2, 2-0 retd. 

Girls: 1-Hong Yi Cody Wong (Hkg) bt wc-Gargi Pawar (Ind) 6-4, 6-1; Punnin Kovapitukted (Tha) bt Kaavya Sawhney (Ind) 6-2, 6-4; Sevil Yuldasheva (Uzb) bt Sudipta Kumar (Ind) 6-2, 6-4; Yakterina Dmitrichenko (Kaz) bt Yashaswini Panwar (Ind) 6-3, 6-2; Yasmina Karimjanova (Uzb) bt ll-Malvika Shukla (Ind) 6-1, 6-1; Malikaa Marathe (Ind) bt wc-Bhakti Parwani (Ind) 6-2, 6-1; Priyanshi Bhandari (Ind) bt Hoi Ki Jenny Wong (Hkg) 6-0, 6-1.

Enjoyed reading The Bridge Chronicle?
Your support motivates us to do better. Follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter to stay updated with the latest stories.
You can also read on the go with our Android and iOS mobile app.

Related Stories

No stories found.
The Bridge Chronicle